Mamata Banerjee To Take Oath On October 7, Along with Two Other TMC MLAs

Mamata Banerjee will be retaining her chair as Chief Minister of West Bengal after winning the Bhowanipore by-poll with a record margin of 58,835 votes.

Janhavi Deshmukh
Oct 05, 2021 13:30 IST
Nadia rape and murder case, mamata banerjee rape remark, mamata banerjee insults national anthem ,Changes In IAS Cadre Rules, complaint against Mamata Banerjee, FIR Against Mamata Banerjee, Mamata Banerjee Insults National Anthem, West Bengal To Reopen Schools, Mamata Banerjee To Take Oath, mamata banerjee fined ,Mothers Of 1 To 12 Year Old ,Mamata Banerjee insulted, Preparations for Cyclone Yaas ,Mamata Banerjee Reinstates IPS Officers, female leadership in bengal, Mamata Banerjee takes oath
Mamata Banerjee To Take Oath: Jagdeep Dhankar, the West Bengal governor said earlier today that he will administer the oath to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on October 7 as a member of the state assembly. He tweeted, announcing the same and sharing the notice.

Banerjee will be retaining her chair as Chief Minister of West Bengal after winning the Bhowanipore by-poll with a record margin of 58,835 votes. She will be serving her third term as the CM after these elections. She won against her closest contender, Priyanka Tibrewal from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

West Bengal governor Dhankar, tweeted, announcing the news and sharing a picture of the notice. He wrote, “Governor WB Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar would administer oath/affirmation to the elected members to the WBLA, viz., MAMATA BANERJEE , JAKIR HOSSIAN and AMIRUL ISLAM at the premises of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly on  7 October, 2021 at 11.45 hours.”

According to the Election Commission of India, Mamata Banerjee secured around 71.90 per cent of the total votes in the election, which is 85,263 votes. BJP candidate Tibrewal, on the other hand, managed to secure 26,428 votes while CPI (M) candidate Srijib Biswas secured 4,226 votes.

According to the TOI report, along with Mamata Banerjee, two other newly-elected Trinamool Congress (TMC) legislators will also be taking oath on Friday, October 7. They are Jakir Hossain and Amirul Islam.

Jakir Hossain has won the elections in the Jangipur Constituency, by a huge margin of 92,480 votes, and Amirul Islam won the elections at Samsergunj by a margin of 26,379 votes.

The results of these elections in West Bengal were announced on Sunday. Partha Chatterjee, the West Bengal Parliamentary Affairs Minister, requested the governor, Jagdeep Dhankar, on Monday to administer the oath to the three legislators, Banerjee, Hossain, and Islam, on October 7.

Earlier in May during the high-voltage state elections, Banerjee lost to Suvendu Adhikari at Nandigram who polled 1,10, 764 votes.

Suggested Reading : 

Who Is Razia Sultana? Three-Time MLA Quits As Punjab Cabinet Minister

“Show Me Warrant,” Priyanka Gandhi Detained in UP: 10 things to know

Lakhimpur Violence: In Viral Video, Priyanka Gandhi Sweeps Room In Detention

#Trinamool Congress #mamata banerjee #West Bengal elections