India's First All-Women Racing Team Enters National Championship

Ria Das
New Update
India's First Women Racing Team

The Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore recently witnessed an all-women car race. In a first, an all-women talent hunt was organised to select a team for formula car racers. As many as 60 women showcased their prowess in the sport that has always been projected as traditionally men-dominated  arena. At the end, six racers were shortlisted to participate in JK Tyre National Racing Championship to be held next week.


The six finalists are Roshni, Lea Daran, Priyamvada, Megaa, Hansuja and Ritika Oberoi

The women is featured under the Ahura Racing banner, a professional racing team started last year by three-time national racing champion Sarosh Hataria.

READ:16-Yr-Old Logan Hannah Is Breaking Boundaries In Motorsport

Apart from some basic training before competing, the women's team will also be evaluated on the basis of fitness, car control, speed and lap times.

Dr Ritika Kapoor, one of the finalists, told NDTV, "It feels good to be among one of the six finalists. It gives me an opportunity to do one of those things which I love to do. Driving has been my passion since one-and-a-half years and I have been doing off-road events and rallies."


You May Also Like: Love for speed & flying: Meet F4 driver Sneha Sharma

"This sport needs courage, helps one overcome fear, get on the track and win. It is one of the nicest feelings one can have. The adrenaline rush keeps me going," she added.

"It's a passion that has got all of us together. In my eyes, we are all winners," said Harshini Kapoor, another racer who participated in the talent hunt

READ: Special Feature: Meet India’s women motorsport champs

Also Read: Speed Sisters: meet the Middle East’s female car-racing team

Feature image credit: NDTV

Read More Stories By Ria Das

women in sports motorsport #racing women in motorsports women racing women racing drivers young racers All Women Racing Team all women talent hunt Formula Cars In India