Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award for Aahana Kumra

post image

Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award is the epitome of praises, and one actor fresh in line for this award is Aahana Kumra. Aahana will be bestowed with the prestigious award for the most promising fresh face of the year, reported TOI. This is for her tremendous role in Lipstick under my Burkha.

Also: Lipstick Under My Burkha Releases: Why It Symbolises Female Sexuality

Path-breaking role in the film

With a passion for acting, Kumra began her career on television and paved her way to the big screen. The stunning actress never fails to portray her expertise with her versatility. Also she accumulated plenty of appreciation with some outstanding preserves in a number of web series.  ‘Lipstick Under My Burkha’ may have released in July last year, but the cast and crew are still being applauded for their enormous efforts.

Manisha Singh, who is a part of the Award committee said, “Aahana is very talented and hard working. She is very promising and has a bright future. This acknowledgement is for the commitment she brings to her work and we wish her a very bright future.” reported the TOI.

In an earlier interview with SheThePeople.TV Kumra on being asked about objectification of women in Hindi Cinema said,  “Objectifying women started in Hindi films right from the word go. There have always been items songs in male-driven films because there are hardly any films for women in India. Most films about women don’t get funding easily, even for that matter a woman director, cinematographer is something that’s not easy to find/fund. I hope this film changes that. A change is happening but it’s gradual. Men are threatened easily by women’s freedom of speech globally. Be it in the parliament or films. Every time a woman voices her opinion it’s easily quietened because they apparently have to stay ‘in their place’. But I sincerely hope this change happens gradually.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Awards

This award is presented to various individuals from the entertainment industry for their contribution to Indian cinema. Aahana is the latest performer to join the list of winners which includes, Rani Mukerji, Anushka Sharma, Aditi Rao Hydari, Tammanah Bhatia, Kriti Sanon, Ranveer Singh, Shahid Kapoor and Kartik Aaryan.

The Awards will be presented in a ceremony on April 21, as per reports.

Also Read: Anushka Sharma to be honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award

Bhawana is an intern with SheThePeople.Tv