BAFTA 2024: Emma Stone, Cillian Murphy Take Spotlight; See All Winners

At the BAFTA 2024, Oppenheimer stole the show with seven awards and Poor Things grabbed five awards. Lead actors Cillian Murphy and Emma Stone clinched Best Actor/Actress awards.

Tanya Savkoor
New Update
emma stone poor things

At a sumptuous gala in London's Southbank Centre, the crème de la crème from film industries worldwide gathered to celebrate the 77th British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) on February 18. The award show was hosted by Scottish actor David Tennant and also saw some of the world's leading stars like India's very own Deepika Padukone presenting the awards. The Oppenheimer team stole the show with seven awards, including Best Film, Best Leading Actor (Cillian Murphy), and Best Director (Christopher Nolan). Meanwhile, Poor Things came a close second with five awards including a Best Leading Actress award for Emma Stone. 


Oppenheimer had 13 nominations while Poor Things had 11. Da'Vine Joy Randolph won the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in The Holdovers. Here is a list of all the BAFTA winners from 2024.

77th BAFTA Winners Full List

Best Film - Oppenheimer

Leading Actress - Emma Stone (Poor Things)


Leading Actor - Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer)

Best Director - Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)

Best Supporting Actress - Da'vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers)

Best Supporting Actor - Robert Downey Jr. (Oppenheimer)

Best Special Visual Effects - Poor Things 

Best Original Screenplay - Anatomy Of A Fall


BAFTA EE Rising Star- Mia McKenna (Bruce)

Best Makeup & Hair- Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston (Poor Things)

Best Costume Design- Holly Waddington (Poor Things)

Outstanding British Film- Jonathan Glazer and James Wilson (The Zone of Interest)

Best Production Design- Shona Heath, James Price and Zsuzsa Mihalek (Poor Things)

Best Sound- Johnnie Burn, Tarn Willers (The Zone of Interest) 


Best Original Score- Ludwig Goransson (Oppenheimer)

Best Documentary- Mstyslav Chernov, Raney Aronson Rath, and Michelle Mizner (20 Days in Mariupol)

Best Adapted Screenplay- American Fiction

Best Cinematography- Hoyte Van Hoytema (Oppenheimer)

Best Editing- Jennifer Lame (Oppenheimer)

Best Casting - Susan Shopmaker (The Holdovers)

Best Film Not In The English Language - Jonathan Glazer and James Wilson (The Zone of Interest)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer - Savanah Leaf, Shirley O'Connor and Medb Riordan (Earth Mama)

Best Animated Film - Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki (The Boy and the Heron)

Special Visual Effects - Simon Hughes (Poor Things)

Best Original Screenplay - Justine Triet and Arthur Harari (Anatomy of a Fall)

An extensive list of nominations was released on January 5, 2024, with Barbie and Killers of the Flower Moon garnering several nods. However, they did not secure any BAFTA wins. Similarly, the Netflix film Maestro, featuring Bradley Cooper and Carey Mulligan in the lead roles, had seven nominations but could not secure any wins.

Emma Stone christopher nolan Oppenheimer poor things BAFTA 2024 cillian muphy