Women's Asia Cup: India's Team Reaches Finals, Defeats Thailand by 74 Runs

The Indian team remains on course for a record-extending seventh win at the Women’s Asia Cup.

Ritika Joshi
New Update
india wins women's asia cup 2022
Indian women’s cricket team entered the finals of the Asia Cup after defeating Thailand’s team by 74 runs. The Indian team remains on course for a record-extending seventh win at the Women’s Asia Cup held at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Bangladesh.

The Indian women’s cricket team’s win against Thailand takes them to their eighth consecutive Asia Cup final. With 148 for 6, the Indian team won the Women's Asia Cup semi-final match against Thailand by 74 runs. The Thailand team finished with 74 for 9 in their 20 overs.

Shafali Verma’s knock of 42 followed by Deepti Sharma’s three-wicket haul propelled the India team to victory in the semi-finals. With India's team scoring double the runs the Thailand team scored, victory and competing in the tournament's finals were assured for the Women in Blue.

Suggested Reading: Most Beautiful Indian Women Cricketers: Why Are People Even Searching For This?

Women's Asia Cup


The Indian team secured a place in the Women's Asia Cup finals and will face the winner of the second semi-final match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka on Saturday.

Shafali Verma scored 42 runs while Captain Harmanpreet Kaur scored 36 runs. Verma was named the player of the match for her impressive runs and for also taking a wicket. Jemimah Rodrigues contributed by making 27 runs during the match.

Indian skipper and caption of the India Women’s National Cricket Team Kaur in all formats praised Deepti Sharma for her performance in bowling. She said, “She is someone who is willing to bowl at any stage. Having such a bowler always gives confidence.”

The Indian women’s cricket team has consecutively won the Women’s Asia Cup title in six tournaments. The team has reached the finals each year and in 2018, Bangladesh won the title by 3 wickets, with the Indian team as the runner-up.

The Indian team won the 2004, 2005-06, 2006, and 2008 Women’s Asia Cup ODI format tournaments. Then, the team won the 2012 and 2016 T20I format tournaments.

In 2018, the Indian team was the runner-up. With eight appearances in the Women’s Asia Cup finals so far, the team has reached the finals in the tournament every year.

Indian Women's Cricket Team Women's Asia Cup