Trinamool Congress Member Arpita Ghosh Files Resignation

TMC leader Arpita Ghosh, Arpita Ghosh
Rajya Sabha Member of Parliament from Trinamool Congress Party, Arpita Ghosh resigned from her seat on Wednesday.

Her resignation has been accepted by the Chairman of the house Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, as per reports. The resignation has reportedly come as a surprise to the members of her party.

The notification regarding her resignation read, “Ms. Arpita Ghosh, an elected Member of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha), representing the State of West Bengal, resigned her seat in the Rajya Sabha and her resignation has been accepted by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha w.e.f. the 15th September, 2021.” Her resignation comes after TMC member Sushmita Dev was nominated for Rajya Sabha seat earlier this week.

Arpita Ghosh was one of the members earlier suspended for creating ruckus in Rajya Sabha during a parliament session. As per media reports, both MPs and marshals controlling the situation were injured. The Deputy Chairman of the house had set the voting deadline for Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce ( Promotion and Facilitation Bill) 2020. The opposition raised objection and demanded that the voting be postposed to Monday.

When the central government did agree to this, MP Arpita Ghosh along with other leaders such as Derek O’Brien reached the well of the house and protested against the centre. This was followed by ruckus in the house.

According to some media reports, Ghosh was asked to tender resignation by her TMC as the party members were not satisfied by her performance.

Ghosh apart from being a politician, has also been a theatre artist, playwright and actor. She has done her graduation in Bachelors of Sciences from University of Calcutta. She translated the Jean Paul Sartre’s Crime Passionnel in 2004. While the play was directed by Saoli Mitra, Ghosh played the lead role. She also translated George Orwell’s Animal Farm for a play in Bengali titled Pashu Kumar.¬†The play became very popular in West Bengal in 2006. She has directed many plays based on stories written by Rabindranath Tagore, Sukumar Ray, Ronald Segal and others.

She won the Lok Sabha elections on Trinamool Congress’ ticket from Balurghat Constituency in 2014.

Share This: