Playback Singer Asha Bhosle Receives The Maharashtra Bhushan Award

Asha Bhosle And RD Burman Love Story, Asha Bhosle awarded Maharashtra Bhushan Award

Asha Bhosle: Legendary playback singer Asha Bhosle is now the recipient of the Maharashtra Bhushan Award, the highest honour from the state government. The award was presented to her on March 25.

Asha Bhosle thanked the people of Maharashtra after receiving the award

The iconic singer took to Twitter to express her gratitude towards the people of Maharashtra. “My heart felt gratitude to the people of Maharashtra for conferring upon me the highest level of honour the state can award to an individual – the Maharashtra Bhushan Award,” she wrote.

Her sister Lata Mangeshkar felt proud and congratulated her for receiving the prestigious award.

Earlier, the Ministry of Culture had made an announcement that Bhosle will be bestowed with the honour for the year 2020. On Thursday, Maharashtra’s chief minister Uddhav Thackeray headed a meeting of the Maharashtra Bhushan Award Selection Committee. Many top politicians like Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar, Cultural Affairs Minister Amit Vilasrao Deshmukh, Minister of State Rajendra Patil-Yadravkar were also present.

After the meeting concluded, the CM office of Uddhav Thackeray tweeted the winner of the Maharashtra Bhushan Award on its Twitter handle. The tweet was written in Marathi.

Asha Bhosle’s sister Lata Mangeshkar was also awarded the Maharashtra Bhushan Award

Interestingly, Asha Bhosle‘s sister Lata Mangeshkar had been bestowed with the Maharashtra Bhushan award in 1997. She was the second awardee after writer P. L. Deshpande.

The Maharashtra Bhushan award was instituted in 1996 by the Maharashtra government. The award recognises the achievements of different people from different walks of life.

Besides this, Asha Bhosle has been the recipient of numerous awards throughout her singing career. She has been a two-time winner of the National Award, eight-time winner of the Filmfare Award, and the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001. She was also selected for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2000.