Bahujan Samaj Party Leader Mayawati To Not Contest Upcoming UP Assembly Polls

Mayawati to not contest up polls ,Mayawati Gets Covid Vaccine
Mayawati, the former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh is not going to contest the upcoming assembly polls in the state.

The same was confirmed by Bahujan Samaj Party’s Member of Parliament Satish Chandra Misra. He said, “Former Chief Minister Mayawati and I will not contest the Assembly elections.” Even in the assembly elections of the past, Mayawati has not contested. Misra while informing said, “If Samajwadi Party does not have 400 candidates, how will they win 400 seats?”

Mayawati To Not Contest UP Polls:

The statement comes just two days after she held a high-level party meet to finalise candidates for the upcoming polls. Misra also stated that he too will not contest the upcoming elections in the state.

Suggested Reading: Who Is Dr Priyanka Maurya? Poster Girl For Congress’ Manifesto For UP Polls

He also confidently declared that neither Samajwadi Party nor Bharatiya Janata Party is going to come to power in Uttar Pradesh and his party, BSP will form the government. As per the notification released by the Election Commission, the assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh for 403 constituencies will take place in seven phases from February 10. The seven phases will be conducted respectively on February 10, 14, 23, 27 and March 3. The counting of the votes will take place on March 10.

BSP supremo Mayawati had raised her concerns over the assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh on Saturday. She said that the ruling party, BJP, is making “attempts to derive the electoral advantage using religion” and asked the Election Commission to put a stop on this “worrying trend”. Her statement came after the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Aditynath gave his statement stating that in the UP elections there will be an 80 per cent versus 20 per cent while ignoring the 20 per cent of the Muslim population of the state.

Unlike Uttar Pradesh, the assembly elections in Uttarakhand, Goa and Punjab will start from February 14. Manipur assembly polls will be held from February 27 and March 6 in two phases. The last assembly polls in 2017, Bharatya Janta Party had won 312 seats out of 403 in Uttar Pradesh. The Congress Party and Samajwadi Party had formed an alliance with 105 seats and 298 seats respectively. The results revealed that Congress onlymanaged to win seven seats while Samajwadi Party won 47 seats. Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party had won only 19 seats.