Indo-Pak Tension Casts Shadow On Women's Asia Cup

Ria Das
New Update
Women’s Cricket Team Coach

The Women's Asia T20 Cup is round the corner. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and Thailand are participating in the tournament, which starts from November 27 in Thailand. Amid the recent tension between Pakistan and India, it is hard to conclude now if India will play against the neighbouring country in the tournament or not.


Also read: Sachin is the God of cricket, but who are the Goddesses? 

The Pakistan Cricket Board on Thursday announced a 15-member women's squad for the upcoming series in New Zealand and the Asia T20 Cup.

Also read: Women’s cricket team to target No 1 spot by 2020: BCCI President

Sources in the PCB said that the BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket in India) has already confirmed that it will not to be playing cricket with Pakistan, given the current circumstances, DNA India reported.

You May Also Like: All the award-winning women cricketers in India

Sources quoted BCCI President, Anurag Thakur, as saying, "It is a problem and the situation is not clear as yet. The PCB has spoken to the ICC about it and apparently India is being convinced to play if required against Pakistan in the Asia T20 Cup in Thailand," adding that India might have to play against Pakistan in the group stages in the Champions Trophy to be held next year in England.


Also Read: Coimbatore to host Women’s Premiere League cricket soon

The reason behind this critical situation may have to do something from the time India had backed out off a ICC women's league series with Pakistan in the UAE, which was scheduled to be held in October. But because of the Indian board’s decision to not send the team for the bilateral series, the match got cancelled.

With a massive change in Pakistan’s team front, it is now to be observed whether India takes on the Pakistan team or yet another cancellation is to be made.

Read More Stories By Ria Das

Join Us on

Follow Us on


Your Story On She The People



Cricket Pakistan Asia Cup BCCI ICC Board of Control for Cricket in India Anurag Thakur The Women's Asia T20 Cup