Indian Women's Cricket Team Conquers Asia Cup For 7th Time

India won the winner title of Women's Asia Cup 2022 edition for the seventh time since 2004, beating Sri Lanka with eight wickets.

Avishka Tandon
New Update
india wins women's asia cup 2022
The women's Asia Cup is a biennial tournament established in 2004 and consists of One Day International and Twenty20 International cricket matches. The tournament has had eight editions as of now and India has won 7 of them, the latest being the 2022 victory.

Indian women's cricket team once again demonstrated their dominance in the sport as they grabbed the title of Women's Asia Cup 2022 by beating Sri Lanka by eight wickets. Eight editions of the tournament have been played till 2022 with India winning seven of them, the only other win being by Bangladesh in 2018. This was the first time in 14 years that Sri Lanka managed to get to the finals of the tournament. Social media was filled with congratulatory messages for the team and praise for their performance.

Suggested Readings: How Sexual Harassment & Abuse Towards Female Sportsperson Has Long Existed

India Wins Women's Asia Cup 2022

The final match of the tournament was played in Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Bangladesh on October 15. The Sri Lankan team, led by Chamari Athapaththu, won the toss and decided to bat. In the first innings, the Sri Lanka team made 65 runs before losing its 9 wickets. Indian women's cricket team, led by Harmanpreet Kaur, made 71 runs with a loss of two wickets in just eight overs and three balls. India's Renuka Singh was named the 'Player Of The Match' for taking three wickets.

India's all-rounder Deepti Sharma became the 'Player Of The Tournament' for her exceptional performance during the Women's Asia Cup 2022. Smriti Mandhana ensured India's victory single-handedly by scoring a half-century in 25 balls while Harmanpreet Kaur and Shafali Verma made 11 and 5 run each. Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Sneh Rana took two wickets each in the match. From Sri Lanka's side, Inoka Ranaweera made 18 runs on 22 balls, Oshadi Ranasinghe made 13 runs on 20 balls and Nilakshi De Silva made 6 runs off 8 balls.

As India won the match and hence the tournament, the team celebrated with the ground staff. The official Twitter account of BCCI Women tweeted, "WHAT. A . WIN!   Clinical performance from #TeamIndia as they beat Sri Lanka to win the #AsiaCup2022 title! #INDvSL" Indian Cricket Council (ICC) tweeted on its official account, "CHAMPIONS. Congratulations to India on their 7th Women's Asia Cup triumph".

women's cricket 2022 Women's Asia Cup