Emmys 2020: Anne Frances, Dan J Levy, Schitt's Creek pick big at Emmys

All the Emmys 2020 nominees were sent camera units and broadcast live from their living rooms with active social media updates.

STP Team
Sep 21, 2020 01:08 IST
anne frances emmys, schitts creek, dan j levy

For the first time Emmys, American television's big night went live online. In its virtual ceremony, Schitt's Creek got off to a great start winning the #Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series. It is the first major entertainment industry ceremony to air since the coronavirus pandemic began. All the Emmys 2020 nominees were sent camera units and broadcast live from their living rooms with active social media updates.


  • Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series, Schitt's Creek went to Anne Frances

  • Dan Levy adds Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series to his trophy cabinet! He gets his first acting #Emmy, winning Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series for @SchittsCreek. He was up for a total of four nominations this year.
  • The #Emmy for Directing For A Comedy Series goes to @AndrewCividino and @danjlevy for @SchittsCreek. The 80 episode Canadian series is based on a married couple who suddenly go bankrupt and the only remaining asset they have is an ugly small town named Schitt's Creek.

  • Last Week Tonight picks up the Emmy for Outstanding Variety Talk Series.

At Emmys 2020, Regina King, Watchmen, Mark Ruffalo win big in the Limited Series categories.

All Winners Below:

Drama Series

Better Call Saul

The Crown

The Handmaid’s Tale
Killing Eve
The Mandalorian


Stranger Things

**WINNER: Succession

Comedy Series

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Dead to Me

The Good Place


The Kominsky Method

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

** WINNER: Schitt’s Creek

What We Do in the Shadows

Lead Actress, Drama

Jennifer Aniston, The Morning Show

Olivia Colman, The Crown

Jodie Comer, Killing Eve

Laura Linney, Ozark

Sandra Oh, Killing Eve

** WINNER: Zendaya, Euphoria

Lead Actor, Drama

Jason Bateman, Ozark

Sterling K. Brown, This Is Us

Steve Carell, The Morning Show

Brian Cox, Succession

Billy Porter, Pose

** WINNER: Jeremy Strong, Succession

Supporting Actor, Drama

Nicholas Braun, Succession

** WINNER: Billy Crudup, The Morning Show

Kieran Culkin, Succession

Mark Duplass, The Morning Show

Giancarlo Esposito, Better Call Saul

Matthew Macfadyen, Succession

Bradley Whitford, The Handmaid’s Tale

Jeffrey Wright, Westworld

Supporting Actress, Drama

Helena Bonham Carter, The Crown

Laura Dern, Big Little Lies

**WINNER: Julia Garner, Ozark

Thandie Newton, Westworld

Fiona Shaw, Killing Eve

Sarah Snook, Succession

Meryl Streep, Big Little Lies

Samira Wiley, The Handmaid’s Tale

Lead Actress, Comedy


Christina Applegate, Dead to Me

Rachel Brosnahan, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Linda Cardellini, Dead to Me

** WINNER: Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek

Issa Rae, Insecure

Tracee Ellis Ross, Black-ish

Lead Actor, Comedy

Anthony Anderson, Black-ish

Don Cheadle, Black Monday

Ted Danson, The Good Place

Michael Douglas, The Kominsky Method

** WINNER: Eugene Levy, Schitt’s Creek

Ramy Youssef, Ramy


Supporting Actor, Comedy

Mahershala Ali, Ramy

Alan Arkin, The Kominsky Method

Andre Braugher, Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Sterling K. Brown, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

William Jackson Harper, The Good Place

** WINNER: Daniel Levy, Schitt’s Creek

Tony Shalhoub, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Kenan Thompson, Saturday Night Live

Supporting Actress, Comedy


Alex Borstein, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

D’Arcy Carden, The Good Place

Betty Gilpin, GLOW

Marin Hinkle, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live

** WINNER: Annie Murphy, Schitt’s Creek

Yvonne Orji, Insecure

Cecily Strong, Saturday Night Live

Limited Series

Little Fires Everywhere

Mrs. America



** WINNER: Watchmen

While Schitt's Creek dominated the comedy category, it was HBO's hit series Succession that led in the drama category. Aside from winning in the Lead Actor category, Andrij Parekh won an Emmy for Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series, while Jesse Armstrong, won Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series for the same.


#schitt's creek #annie murphy #Emmy 2020