What Is President Droupadi Murmu’s Real Name?

Draupadi Murmu with court chief justice Virendra Singh Picture By: One India
On Monday, Droupadi Murmu took the oath of office to become India’s fifteenth president. Murmu, the first tribal chief to hold the position of head of state, admitted that her given name, “Droupadi,” which was inspired by a character from the Hindu epic “Mahabharata,” was not her birth name. In actuality, her schoolteacher gave her that name.

Murmu said that her Santhali name is Puti and that a teacher had “for good” altered it to Droupadi in an interview with an Odia video magazine. She didn’t always go by the name Droupadi. Her teacher, who was not from her hometown of Mayurbhanj, gave it to her, according to Murmu, who was quoted by the news agency PTI. In the 1960s, teachers would come from Balasore or Cuttack to the Mayurbanjh district, which was predominately tribal, Murmu shared.

Droupadi Murmu Real Name

Droupadi Murmu added that before getting married to bank officer Shyam Charan Tudu, she went by the name “Tudu” in schools and colleges. She then began using the name “Murmu” after the marriage. On Monday, Murmu took oath promising to “preserve, safeguard, and defend the Constitution and the law.”

Ram Nath Kovind, the outgoing president, and Droupadi Murmu, the next president, arrived first in a parade from Rashtrapati Bhavan to the Parliament building. Following the brief ceremony, trumpets and drums were rolled and Murmu and Kovind were led out of the Central Hall. A thundering round of applause and desk thumps followed her signing the oath register after the 21-gun salute. The new President next inspected the guard of honour for the three services in Rashtrapati Bhavan’s forecourt.

Suggested Reading: Droupadi Murmu: On Her Way To Become India’s Second Woman President

In 1997, Murmu was chosen to serve as a Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat council member. Additionally, she served as the vice president of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Scheduled Tribes Morcha. From March 6, 2000, to August 6, 2002, and from August 6, 2002, to May 16, 2004, she served as the Minister of State with independent charge for Fisheries and Animal Resources Development and Commerce and Transport during the coalition government of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Biju Janata Dal in Odisha. Between 2000 and 2004, she was an MLA for the Rairangpur Assembly district in Odisha. She was given the Nilkantha award for best MLA by the Odisha Legislative Assembly in 2007.

We request you to support our award-winning journalism by making a financial contribution towards our efforts. Your funds will ensure we can continue to bring you amazing stories of women, and the impact they are making and spotlight half the country's population because they deserve it.

By proceeding, you are agreeing to our Terms of Service .View our FAQs and Support page .