BJP elects three women mayors for NDMC SDMC and EDMC post

Poorvi Gupta
May 15, 2017 05:50 IST
Kamaljeet Sehrawat

Delhi’s MCD elections took place recently and BJP won with a thumping majority of 184 seats out of 272. Now the party has for the first time ever named three women mayors for in EDMC, SDMC, and NDMC. Councillors Kamaljeet Sehrawat (Dwarka-B ward), Neema Bhagat,  Preeti Aggarwal (ward No. 57-N) are ready to take on the post of SDMC, EDMC and NDMC respectively.


Sehrawat won from Dwarka-B ward and defeated her nearest rival Sushma Bansal of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) by a whopping 9,866 votes. She was also the chief of Delhi BJP Mahila Morcha.And her good work in the women’s wing marked her appointment as party’s New Delhi unit vice president.

BJP’s Aggarwal who won from Rohini filed her nomination for the post of Mayor of NDMC on Thursday. She is most likely to be elected unopposed on May 18. Aggarwal’s first challenge as a Mayor would be to control mosquito-borne diseases in the area.


“My goal is to ensure 3S in the corporation— Swacchata, Shiksha and Swasth, (cleanliness, education and health) in North Delhi areas.”

“We are already running awareness campaigns in corporation schools and meetings have been held with sanitation workers, during which they were asked to undertake cleanliness drives on a larger scale,” she said, reported Hindustan Times.

BJP is going to get its women elected in South and east civic bodies and the polls for it will take place on May 19 and May 22 respectively. It has decided to field Kailash Sankla (Punjabi Bagh), outgoing Leader of House in SDMC as its Deputy Mayor.


ALSO READ: Former Congress Leader Barkha Shukla Joins BJP

Other women candidates like Shikha Rai, Nandani Sharma, Tulsi Joshi and Poorva will sit in the panel as members.

So many female nominations is giving BJP an edge over other parties. The party will have its mayors and deputy mayors in all three civic bodies. The MCD election were held on April 23 with BJP sweeping in a large chunk of seats. However two wards are yet to conduct elections which will happen on May 14 and May 21.

Picture credit-

#Preeti Aggarwal #MCD Elections 2017 #Kamaljeet Sehrawat #BJP female candidates