BJP Big on Actors in Bengal : Meet Locket Chatterjee, Tanusree Chakraborty, Anjana Basu

BJP gets ready for a high-profile contest as the party enlists the names of the candidates like Locket Chatterjee for Bengal Elections.

Shriya Sarang
Updated On
New Update
actresses in bjp, bjp bengal women candidates, payel sarkar, locket chatterjee
Bengal Elections BJP Candidates: Party Picks Popular Actors Across State to Garner Votes

For the upcoming Bengal Elections, BJP has enlisted many popular female actors across the state. These include Locket Chatterjee, Tanusree Chakraborty, Anjana Basu and Payel Sarkar. The party also announced Babul Supriyo, Swapan Dasgupta, and Nisith Pramanik are its candidates.

BJP has announced 27 candidates for the third phase and 38 candidates for the fourth phase. BJP is preparing to contest against the current West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee of the Trinamool Congress.

Payel Sarkar

Payel Sarkar will stand for polls from Behala East in Kolkata. Sarkar is an actor from Bengali films and Hindi television. On 25 February 2021, she joined the Bharatiya Janata Party. She tweeted upon her candidature in Bengali, which when loosely translated says,

"Bengal has been crippled in 34 years of rule. Then in another ten years people have become half-dead due to exploitation and deprivation of such a Chief Minister."

Tanusree Chakraborty


Tanusree Chakraborty is a Bengali model and actress in film and television. She got attention in Bengali films such as Uro Chithi, Bedroom, Obhishopto Nighty, Window Connections, Buno Haansh Khaad and Gumnaami.

This actor stands from Shyampur in Howrah district. On her Instagram she says, "No matter how challenging your life gets, always live and lead with elegance."


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Tnusree C (@tonushree_10)

Anjana Basu

She will stand for BJP from Sonarpur South in South 24 Parganas district.


Anjana Basu is an actor based in Kolkata. She started her acting stint with modelling, and gradually with a serial "Robir Aloy" in 2003.

Locket Chatterjee

Locket Chatterjee is a Bengali actor-turned-politician. She is also the  General Secretary of Bharatiya Janata Party, West Bengal. Since 9 October 2019 she's serving as a Member of the Committee on Empowerment of Women.

Ahead of the Bengal elections a host of actors of Bengali cinema and television actors joined the BJP including Kailash Vijayvargiya, Mukul Roy, Yash Dasgupta, Papiya Adhikari, Soumili Ghosh Biswas, Payel Sarkar were among many others

West Bengal will hold elections in record eight phases starting March 27 till April 29. Votes will be counted on May 2. The BJP has launched an all-out campaign to defeat two-time Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and her Trinamool Congress.

Bengal Elections Locket Chatterjee