All You Need To Know About The ICC Women's Cricket World Cup

Ria Das
New Update
Indian Cricket Team

The ICC women’s World Cup will begin in England on June 24. According to the International Cricket Council, the tournament will be held in the presence of nine male and four women umpires.


“The tournament will see four women umpires officiate, the highest number yet for an ICC global event. They are Kathy Cross of New Zealand, Sue Redfern of England, Australia’s Claire Polosak and West Indies’ Jacqueline Williams,” the statement said, The Hindu reported.

#WWC17 ICC WWC squads (Photo Credit: ICC)

Also Read: Sportswomen Who Made India Proud In 2016

“The nine men umpires, who are from the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires, are Gregory Brathwaite, Chris Brown, Anil Chaudhary, Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock, Ahsan Raza, Langton Rusere, S. Saikat and Paul Wilson,” it added.

While Indian men faced a terrible defeat at the hands of Pakistan on June 18 in the Champions Trophy 2017 Final, all eyes are now set on the Indian women cricketers. Here’s all you need to know about the tournament:

The 2017 Women’s Cricket World Cup is the 11th edition. Interestingly, the first time the tournament was played in 1973 in England. This is the third time that the tournament will be held in England.


England is a two-time champion -- in 1973 and 1993.

The tournament is making headline since it is the first time that the Umpire Decision Review System (UDRS) is applied in a women’s tournament.

Of the eight teams that will participate in the world cup, Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies qualified directly (as per the rank of top four teams of ICC Women’s Championship 2014-16) while India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan had to fight their way through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017, played in Colombo in February 2017.

The Mithali Raj-led Indian team comprises Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Nuzhat Parween, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma. Sushma Verma (WK).

Biju George – known as the most experienced coaches in the domestic circuit -- is prepping the team as the fielding coach. Besides batting techniques, the Indian squad needs to improve their fielding too to win the upcoming games.

The Indian women cricketers will earn more money per game and a higher daily allowance from the upcoming tournament. While they earlier earned Rs 3 lakh per series, now they are set to get Rs 1 lakh per game. The BCCI has confirmed that the daily allowance of the women cricketers would be equal to the men’s as it has been hiked from $50 to $125 when playing overseas, and to $100 when playing in India.

Captain Mithali Raj said, “We are eagerly awaiting the ICC Women’s World Cup, especially after our thrilling victory against South Africa in the final of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Colombo in February. The warm-up matches provide teams with the chance to iron out any deficiencies and we look forward to making maximum use of them.” 

Last month, the Indian cricket team showed a stellar performance when they knocked out South Africa in the final of the Quadrangular Series in Potchefstroom by 8 wickets on May 21.

After the initial play-offs, the top four teams will go into the semi-finals, that are scheduled on July 18 and July 20, respectively and Lord’s Cricket Ground in London will host the final on July 23, 2017.

The current champion – Australia – holds the most successful team’s tag with 6 titles.

India will face off England in their first match of the World Cup on June 24.

Also Read:  At last, gender parity in daily allowances for women’s and men’s cricket teams

Also Read: Team India Flaunts Mothers’ Names On Jerseys

Read More Stories By Ria Das

Join Us on

Follow Us on

Your Story On She The People


Mithali Raj Cricket Indian Women's Cricket Team BCCI ICC #WWC17 sport 2017 Women's Cricket World Cup World Cup Cricket