Fourth Gold In 15 Days, Hima Das Keeps India Shining

Hima Das warm-ups

India’s ace sprinter Hima Das is bettering her performance everyday as she bags her fourth gold by winning the 200m race at the Tabor Athletics Meet in Czech Republic this Wednesday. Hima finished the race in 23.25 seconds, and closed in on the gold, beating competitors representing clubs of Czech Republic. Nonetheless, she is clocking closer to her personal best of 23.10. Hima’s compatriot V K Vismaya was second with a season best 23.43.

“Won another gold today in 200m and improved my timings to 23.25s at Tabor GP,” the sprinter from Assam tweeted after her victory.

This was 19-year-old Hima’s fourth gold since she had claimed the women’s 200m gold in the Poznan Athletics Grand Prix in her first competitive 200m race of the year on July 2, she clocked 23.65 sec. Dhing Express, then clinched her second international gold in women’s 200m with a top finish at the Kutno Athletics Meet in Poland on July 7 as she clocked 23.43 seconds and then went on to bag the top honours in Czech Republic. The third international gold came in women’s 200m event at the Kladno Memorial Athletics Meet at Kladno in Czech Republic on July 15.

READ: Please Don’t Disturb, Hima Das Appeals To Fans After Asiad Loss

Hima is eyeing to qualify for the World Championships in both the quartermile event and the 200m. Previously, Hima stood fourth in her first race of the year on March 8 at the 3rd Indian Grand Prix. This year, she made it to the ‘Forbes India 30 Under 30’ list. She has also been appointed as the country’s first youth ambassador to the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) India, recently.

In July last year, Hima proved her mettle by becoming the first Indian woman to win gold at the IAAF World Under-20 Athletics Championships, in Tampere, Finland. During the track events, the sprinter earned India’s first-ever gold, clocking 51.46 seconds in the 400-metre women’s final.

Hima had also won gold in 4x400m women’s relay at the last Asian Games and was among the 20 recipients of the prestigious Arjuna award this year

Read More Stories By Ria Das