10 Things To Know About Women's Big Bash League 2020

This year, Indian batswomen Smriti Mandhana, T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Jemimah Rodrigues have withdrawn from WBBL.

Ria Das
Nov 11, 2020 08:13 IST
New Update
WBBL 2020, Women Big Bash League 2020

This year Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), commonly known as Australia’s T20 tournament, kick-started in Sydney amid COVID-19 challenges. The games started on October 25 and the final will conclude the competition in November (dates to be confirmed).


Here are ten things you wanted to know about the tournament:

1.Women’s BBL is the female version of the Big Bash League.

2. WBBL 2020 is the sixth season of the tournament. It's an annual tournament that started in the year 2015.

3. The tournament's main focus is to promote and bring out the exceptional talent in women's cricket.

“This competition continues to grow from strength to strength. The quality of the talent is on the rise and the action is thrilling to watch,” said Australian sports minister Geoff Lee.

What stands out most is the great example these women are setting to young girls aspiring to play the game of cricket. I can’t wait to watch the best walkout for the Women’s Big Bash League in Sydney,” Lee added.


4. The batswomen from India will give WBBL a miss this year as they are busy playing the Women’s T20 Challenge in the UAE. Smriti Mandhana, T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Jemimah Rodrigues are some Indian cricketers who have withdrawn from WBBL.

5. In 2016, all-rounder Kaur was the first Indian player to sign the Big Bash League contract. She was slated to play for the Surrey Stars in last year’s competition. But she missed out because of a shoulder injury she had sustained in the 2017 World Cup.

Kaur became the first cricketer from the country — male or female — to play in Australia’s Big Bash League.

6. Mandhana has played for Brisbane Heats and Hobart Hurricanes. But for Rodrigues, it was supposed to be her maiden WBBL contract after a good Kia Super League (KSL) season in England with Yorkshire Diamonds.

7. This season female cricketers across countries have made as many as eight different teams, and they will face off in a  competition that will last for more than a month. The eight teams are Perth Scorchers Women (PSW), Brisbane Heat Women (BHW), Adelaide Strikers Women (ASW), Hobart Hurricanes Women (HHW), Sydney Sixers Women (SSW), Sydney Thunder Women (STW) Melbourne Renegades Women (MRW) and Melbourne Stars Women (MSW).

8. The league stage will have a total of 56 games. The team Brisbane Heat Women is playing as this year's defending champions.


9. Last year, the second-highest run-getter was Beth Mooney (PSW) and the highest wicket-taker was Molly Strano (MRW). The most wickets went to Belinda Vakarewa (HHW).

10. Many international and elite women cricketers have signed up for this year's WBBL. The most famous ones are  Meg Lanning (MSW), Amy Satterthwaite (MRW), Sophie Devine (PSW), Jess Jonassen (BHW), Suzie Bates (ASW), Rachael Haynes (STW), Ellyse Perry (SSW) and Corinne Hall (HHW).

Also Read: Trailblazers Lift Women’s T20 Challenge Trophy, Beat Supernovas By 16 Runs

Feature Image Credit: Sportzwiki

Read More Stories By Ria Das

#Women’s Big Bash League #Australian T20 #WBBL 2020