Heena Sidhu Wins Gold on Day 4 of 13th Asian Shooting Championship

STP Team
New Update
Heena Sidhu

Heena Sidhu confirmed a welcome return to shooting form, when she backed up her Gold medal winning effort at home at the 8th Asian Air Gun Championship, with another Gold Medal on Day 4 of the 13th Asian Shooting Championship here in Kuwait City. Heena shot an excellent 198.2 in the finals to edge out Mongolian Gundegma Otreyad who shot 198. Jangmi Kim of Korea won the Bronze.


She is an ace Indian shooter, the first Indian Pistol shooter to be Ranked World No.1 (as on 7 April'2014) by ISSF, the first Indian Pistol shooter to have won a Gold medal in the 2013 ISSF World Cup Finals -Pistol in 10 metre Air Pistol event. She thus, became the third Indian shooter after Anjali Bhagwat (2003) and Gagan Narang (2008) to win a Gold medal in a Rifle/Pistol World Cup Finals. She along with Annu Raj Singh won the gold medal in women's Pairs 10 metre air pistol at the 2010 Commonwealth Games. Heena (384) and Annu (375) won the 14th gold medal for India from the shooting range. She also won a silver medal in the singles event. She is also the first Indian shooter who has appeared on the ISSF magazine's cover page for the first time ever since the National Rifle Association of India was formed on 17 Apr 1951. Sidhu, is the Finals World record holder in 10 metre air pistol event with a final score of 203.8.

The medal winning efforts of India on Day 4 are as follows:


10M Air Pistol Women

Heena Sidhu struck Gold shooting a score 198.2 in the finals. Gundegma Otreyad of Mongolia won the Silver shooting 198 while Jangmi Kim of Korea won the Bronze ending with a score of 176.2

10M Air Pistol Women Junior


Shri Nivetha backed up her Gold medal winning performace at the 8th Asian Air Gun Championship held in Delhi with another Gold here in Kuwait City. She shot 195.8 in the finals to edge out Shinemurun Nyamdorj of Mongolia who shot 195.4. Heesun Kim of Korea won the Bronze shooting 174.4.

Shreya Gawande, Shri Nivetha and Oshin Tawani also won the Team Gold with a combined total of 1114. Mongoloia won the Silver and Korea the Bronze


10M Air Pistol Youth Women 

The Team of Nayani Bharadwaj (374), Harshada Nithave (374) and Malaika Goel (365) won the Team Gold in the 10M Air Pistol Youth Women event.

Picture Credit: Sportskeeda


india women sportswomen women in news 'Laws affecting women in India.' women in India she sport