Congratulations to the World’s No1 pairing Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis who tasted their first Australian Open doubles title grand victory together with a 7-6 (7-1), 6-3, beaten up the Czech pair Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka and win the Australian Open at the Rod Laver Arena on Friday.

Also Read: India not a Tennis-friendly Nation, Says Sania Mirza

Although the opposite team had lasted the battle for just under two hours facing the duo, it was Sania and Martina’s third consecutive Grand Slam in a row. Following that the duo has now extended their run to 36 unbeatable matches, winning eight titles in a row. In 2015, they fought and won five straight titles starting from the US Open and before the Australian Open now.

Individually, Hingis became the 12th grand slam women’s doubles title winner and Mirza clinches the third for India’s women’s doubles title.

MUST READ: Indian women in sports are ahead of men

It was Sania’s second victory title at the Australian Open. She hit the mixed doubles in 2009 with Mahesh Bhupathi. The duo seemed tough throughout the game and finally successive and shared their championship story on their social media sites. “You have won two grand slam doubles so you were very tough,” Hingis said of the Czech pair, reported by The Guardian.

Firstpost /The Guardian /  TOI