Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur Among Four Indians In ICC's Women's Teams Of The Decade

Both Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami are now retired from the Twenty20 format and are eyeing the 2021 World Cup in New Zealand.

Ria Das
Updated On
New Update
Pink ball test, Indian Women To Play First Pink Ball Test, Indian women cricket team at LA Olympics, Women World Cup 2022, icc awards

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced four Indian stars including two of the veterans of the game, Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami, in its Women’s ODI Team of the Decade charts. Apart from the Indian women cricket team’s senior players, batswoman Harmanpreet Kaur and bowler Poonam Yadav have also featured in their list with Australia's skipper Meg Lanning leading both the T20I team and the ODI team sides. She is slated in the middle-order to bat at No 4.

Also Read: No Gymming? Athletes Are Using These Jugaads To Workout At Home

While Indian women cricketers Raj and Goswami made it to the ODIs, Kaur and Yadav found a place in the T20I team. Both players are now retired from the Twenty20 format and are eyeing the 2021 World Cup in New Zealand. Australian players dominated both the sides.

The ODI Team list included three players from Australia – skipper Meg Lanning, opening batter Alyssa Healy and all-rounder, Ellyse Perry. All three of them and veteran bowler Megan Schutt made their way in the T20I side as well.

ICC Women's ODI Team of the Decade

Raj, the India women’s ODI team captain, is currently ranked 10th in Women’s ODI batswomen ranking by ICC. She became the first woman to play 200 matches in the ODI format, and now a film is being made on her journey. Raj has gathered a massive 6,888 runs in 209 matches, hailed as the all-time leading run-scorer in the women's ODIs. She announced her retirement from T20 Internationals to focus on ODI cricket, and has recorded the highest score by an Indian woman in T20s.  She led India in 32 T20s. Wherein Goswami is ranked 5th among the bowlers. She is the most successful bowler in format with 225 wickets under her belt from 182 matches.

In T20s too, Kaur has collected a total score of 2,186 runs in T20Is, while leg-spinner Yadav, who made her debut in 2013, has played 67 matches and picking 95 wickets.

ICC Awards of the Decade charts recognises the best players across cricket over the past 10 years.



Jhulan Goswami Mithali Raj Harmanpreet Kaur ICC Awards ICC's Women's Teams Of The Decade