Indian women are shining at AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championship

The 2014 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championship held in Jeju City, South Korea, started on 16th November. Due to difficult circumstances, India’s start sportswomen, MC Mary Kom and Liashram Sarita Devi, are both not participating this year.


Where Mary Kom sustained an injury that is preventing her from participating in the Championship for the first time eight years, Sarita Devi has been barred by AIBA following her refusal to acknowledge her defeat during the Asian Games, this year.


Despite the absence of both our country’s star boxers, India had a good start. On Tuesday, former world youth champion, Sarjubala Shamjetsabam defeated Grazieli de Jesus Sousa of Brazil in her opening round. Maisnam Meena Kumari, won in her opening bout against Ethiopia’s Gebremedihin Felekech Seifu. Meena Kumari however, saw defeat the hands of Dina Zholaman, a two-time national champion from Kazakhstan.


[Picture Courtesy: IBN Live]


Replacing the injured and five-time world champion MC Mary Kom in the Indian team, was Pinky Rani, who too defeated her opponent Russia’s Saiana Sagataeva, in her first bout. Sarjubala Shamjetsabam and Pavitra , both advanced to the second level on Wednesday but Pwilao Basumatary lost in her second bout round.


Currently, Sarjubala Shamjetsabam and Sweety, have both reached the semi-finals. Most of the boxers representing India in the Championships this year are new to the World Tournament, still our country’s performance so far has exceeded many expectations.

We request you to support our award-winning journalism by making a financial contribution towards our efforts. Your funds will ensure we can continue to bring you amazing stories of women, and the impact they are making and spotlight half the country's population because they deserve it.

By proceeding, you are agreeing to our Terms of Service .View our FAQs and Support page .