Harmanpreet Kaur Named Captain Of ICC Women’s T20I 2018 Team

Harmanpreet Kaur named captain

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday named Harmanpreet Kaur as the captain of the ICC women’s T20 International team.

Harmanpreet Kaur played a prominent role in leading her team to the semi-finals of the Women’s World T20 tournament this year

Kaur has been given this responsibility for leading her team all the way to the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in November. Kaur, in that tournament, scored 183 runs at a strike-rate of 160.5. In the 25 matches in the calendar year, she accumulated 663 runs at a strike-rate of 126.2.

She ranks third in the ICC Women’s Player Rankings for T20I Batters

“To be honest, it was really surprising for me. The last two years we did not get enough T20I matches to play and it was really tough for me to build that confidence in the team and show that with self-belief, we can do well in T20Is. Credit goes to all team members, the way they worked hard and show that self-belief. This award means a lot to me to build my confidence, BCCI is showing confidence in me – that I can do well in the format and I am looking forward to do well in the future,” said Kaur while reacting to this news.

Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav are the two Indian players who made it to both the T20I and ODI Squads

New Zealand’s Suzie Bates was named the World XI ODI captain.

Here are the teams for the T20 and ODI

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order): Smriti Mandhana (India), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain), Natalie Sciver (England), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ashleigh Gardner (Australia), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Megan Schutt (Australia), Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh), Poonam Yadav (India).

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England), Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Deandra Dottin (Windies), Sana Mir (Pakistan), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Poonam Yadav (India).

Also Read: Harmanpreet Kaur Ranks Third In ICC Women’s T20I Player Rankings

More Stories By Bhawana

We request you to support our award-winning journalism by making a financial contribution towards our efforts. Your funds will ensure we can continue to bring you amazing stories of women, and the impact they are making and spotlight half the country's population because they deserve it.

By proceeding, you are agreeing to our Terms of Service .View our FAQs and Support page .