13th Haryana assembly will have 13 women MLAs

After women created history in Haryana with a record breaking 75.87% turnout in the assembly elections this year, the state has again shocked many as the 13th Haryana assembly will now have a corresponding 13 women MLAs. This is the highest number of women MLAs the state has had since the first elections in 1967 after its formation.


According to a report by Times of India, six out of the elected 13 women MLAs, have been elected for the second time. They are: Kiran Choudhry, Geeta Bhukkal and Shankuntala Khatak of the Congress, Santosh Chauhan Sarvan and Kavita Jain of the BJP and Renuka Bishnoi of HJC.


The remaining seven woman candidates who have been elected for the first time are Naina Singh Chautala of INLD and Prem Lata Singh, Santosh Yadav, Latika Sharma, Seema Trikha, Rohita Rewri and Bimla Chaudhary, all of whom are from the BJP party.


[Picture Courtesy: India Today]

Previously, the highest number of women MLAs elected to the Haryana assembly was 11 in 2005. During the last state elections in 2009, nine women legislators were elected. This year also saw the highest number of women candidates- 116. Out of these 11.2% were elected. INLD had the highest number of women contestants in the state assembly polls this year- 16 followed by BJP with 15, Congress with 10 and 5 by HJC.





Share This: