The International Cricket Council has announced a hefty $660,000 as the prize money for the Women’s World Cup that is set to start from June 24 in England. India is one of the eight teams that have been chosen to play in the prestigious tournament.

Earlier, the cricket council had decided that $2 million will be the total prize money for the tournament. While the runner-up team will take $330,000 back with them, the losing team in the semi-finals will take $165,000 back and the teams that lose in the group stage will get $30,000 each. Clearly, each win in the group stage will coincide with a $20,000 in the bag for the winning team.

“The ICC Women’s World Cup is the pinnacle of the women’s game and as such the players should be rewarded appropriately. Two million dollars is the first step towards greater parity and recognition. The change will not happen overnight but the women’s game is crucial to the global growth of cricket,” ICC Chief Executive David Richardson had said in a statement released earlier.

The tournament will kick off with a match between New Zealand and Sri Lanka. India, led by Mithali Raj, will take on West Indies on June 29 in its first match of the tournament.

Also read: ICC Raises Women’s World Cup Prize By 10 Times

The tournament is pushing boundaries in many aspects. Apart from increasing the prize money about ten-fold this year, it is also going to have four women umpires for the first time in an ICC global event.

The Umpires are Kathy Cross of New Zealand, Sue Redfern of England, Australia’s Claire Polosak and West Indies’ Jacqueline Williams.

A Decision Review System (DRS) and a drone camera will also be used for the first time to enhance the experience of the Women’s World Cup. And a Spidercam will be fixed for the finale that will be held at Lord’s on July 23.

Picture credit- ICC